Your life, on the line

Tips on how to use Plurk with your IM

1) All the commands

  • hello – I’ll introduce myself
  • help – I’ll tell you about commands you can issue
  • prefs – I’ll show your preferences
  • off – Makes me silent
  • on – I’ll speak again
  • off plurks – I won’t send you notifications about new plurk
  • on plurks – I will send you notifications about new plurk
  • off responses – I won’t send you notifications about new responses
  • on responses – I will send you notifications about new responses
  • follow [username] – to follow someone with your IM
  • unfollow [username] – to unfollow him/her
  • mute #[unique number] – to mute a plurk. See below for details on unique number
  • unmute #[unique number] – to unmute it

2) Post response via IM

To post a response to a specific plurk, just send #[unique number] [response text]. Unique number is a plurk’s unique identifier sent along with every IM notification.

For example: #45333 This is a response

3) Can I mute/unmute plurks with your IM?

Yes you can. Just type /mute #[unique number] to mute a plurk and /unmute #[unique number] to unmute it.

4) Can I only follow certain friends on IM?

Yes you can. There are two ways:

  • Using your IM. Just type /follow [username] to follow someone or /unfollow [username] to un-follow him/her. Make sure to use plurker’s username, not his/her nickname
  • Go to My Friends and you should see an IM column beside each of your friend’s name. You can decide who to follow on IM by toggling the on/off button.

My friend IM screen

Leave a Reply

